Questions on KDE Development Using Distrobox

Hey, for anyone that uses Distrobox, is there a container available for KDE Neon Developer Edition? I’m thinking about moving my KDE contributions environment to inside of a container instead on my local machine. I keep trying to create an image from invent-registry.kde.org/neon/docker-images/plasma:developer but I get a manifest unknown error.

Also, how do I install local (as in from source) software in kdesrc-build in the container, but not on my local machine? I’m new to Docker.

I can confirm, I experienced this issue a month ago.

Unlike raw Docker/Podman where the rootspace (/ and such) and userspace (/home/youruser) are both inside the container and you have to use volume mounts to access your host machine, distrobox has access to your whole userspace.

So to have things only on the container, you can just install the app to root from inside the container. For example, if you compile with CMake:

cmake -B build/ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr
cmake --build build/
sudo cmake --install build/

This will install the app in your container root.

I’ve never tried it, but in theory you could achieve this directly with kdesrc-build by changing your ~/.config/kdesrc-buildrc from kdedir ~/kde/usr to kdedir /usr.

But that both misses the point of using distrobox and kdesrc-build, though. Why do you want to install it to the container instead of your host? Everything can be done (and is more safely supported and done) if you keep things in your userspace.

1 Like

Yeah, I’ve been told from the Matrix server that the image hasn’t been built as of recently because of something called kdesdk-devenv-dependencies being not updated.