Should users Be warned that Save as will edit their original file, rather than make a new one?

so i’ve gotten my GF to switch to krita from Photoshop, and she keeps accidentally saving over her original file, because she forgets to export. KDE isn’t quite clear what channel or forum i should go to, but I think it would be nice for those people who aren’t used to krita, not having this “Gotcha” happen to them, and warning them about it in the application itself.

1 Like

It already does that:

that is “saving as” not the normal save button. i agree with OP in that it’s very easy to overwrite the original file without really meaning to.

the Save As... dialog comes up with a blank for the file name just as on pretty much any application you choose to mention.

if you then click on your existing file to populate the name text field, you have made an intentional choice to overwrite the existing file.

even then, a warning message tells you that you are are about to overwrite your existing file (as tho you were just using the Save option).

if that’s not what you want to do then give it a new file name and it will make a copy with your latest alterations.

if the name change you give it is a version number this is how you do version control on creations.

1 Like

Can you describe the exact steps she takes with screenshots?