Font browser application for KDE Plasma (Help needed)

Hello! My first time posting in the forum so forgive me if I wrote anything in the wrong way.

About half a year ago, I put heavy effort into creating a font browser application for KDE Plasma that let’s you browse fonts from Google Fonts, install them locally on your user, save them to a directory and manage them. Below you can find a screenshot (can only embed one screenshot since I’m a new user):

One note I should mention. It doesn’t quite use the traditional KDE application stack. It still uses Qt and QML but it’s entirely written in Rust with no C++ involved. You can take a look at the Github repo and code for more info:

The initial reason I left this project was packaging. I’ve been using linux for a few years but I’ve never packaged an application I wrote. I find it incredibly hard and confusing, none of the packaging system are easy to understand and actually package to. You can find my efforts to get a working AppImage in the gh repo, it works but not properly and is kinda messed up on non-KDE systems.

If anybody experienced with packaging applications to AppImage and Flatpak can help me, I would be more than happy to release this app under the KDE umbrella (or as a separate project if it’s not accepted). It’s far from perfect currently, has minor bugs and lacks any kind of i18n but I am willing to work on those issues and maintain it (if I can actually package it, as I mentioned).

And if you want to try app for yourself, just clone the repo and run cargo run (assuming you have Rust and Cargo installed on your system). Any kind of test feedback is also welcome!

12 Likes

The apps sounds really interesting! You could also integrate local font browsing at some point. You can ask for help in #flatpak:kde.org and find the Incubator process at Incubator - KDE Community Wiki. there’s also Distributing KDE Software as Flatpak | Developer

4 Likes