Free software wisdom

Every week veteran KDE contributor Kevin Ottens posts a bunch of thought-provoking links on his blog, and last week’s post contained one that I found particularly enlightening:

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://pointieststick.com/2024/03/26/free-software-wisdom/
1 Like

Great post but I have to add if this is difficult for you record your notes. I have a few literacy issues (found out when I went to TAFE I had form of dyslexia) and this helped me heaps to learn how to write in a way my brain understands and that others can read.

This from that link was mad to read

I have nearly forty years of programming experience, thirty of it working full time. I have code running on billions of devices, on all continents, on all oceans, in orbit, and on Mars.

That should make it a bit easier to read.

1 Like

Cheers for doing that

1 Like

It’s really funny how people get triggered and react aggressively when they read that writing software has a political dimension. Acting like politicians aren’t already selectively deciding on using one software over the other solely for political reasons.

4 Likes

I wish I could say anything close to that. But given that most of my code was written on Dec PDP 11/70s (BASIC 2+) and WANG Minis (COBOL), and none of my Web code, written in Visual Basic and C# is currently running, my 30 years of working full time might never have happened. :disappointed:

1 Like

I know, it seems a bit weird to me too. But I think it happens because a lot of people don’t actually understand what politics is: a decision-making process regarding the distribution of power in society. Anything that increases or decreases the amount of power that any person or group has is therefore political. And this includes software, as well as lots of other things: tools in general, education, vehicles, weapons–you name it. Yes, this means that politics is very broad!