How could I reroute every "Konsole" opening intent to open a tab instead?

Dolpin, Kate, Kwrite, GIMP, Okular, XNViewMP, Firefox, …

These are apps that all open a new tab when the app is already running and you open a new file / location.

But Konsole, where tabs are just as well integrated, always opens windows.

This is pretty annoying, as it can create a pretty mess.

Do you know how I could reroute every “open in Konsole” intent to open a new tab instead?

I suppose some dbus stuff, but I am a totally noob here.

Interesting: konsole --new-tab opens a window instead of a tab!

I guess you could set it to run in a single process (settings>general) and then change the executable for konsole to konsole --new-tab and make sure the tab bar is always visible.
Futhermore, you can also start konsole with a couple of predefined tabs.
You’d need to create such a file in ~/.konsole ( if needed, create the folder) and it should look something like, for example:
workdir: /home/john;; title: Htop;; command:htop
workdir: /home/john;; title: Ranger;; command:ranger
workdir: /home/john;; title: Cava;; command:cava
You start it with “konsole --tabs-from-file /path/to/the/file”. It’ll always have a default tab, regardless how many predefined tabs you create in that file)

In that same folder you can also create a konsole.css in case you should like some fancy like highlighting the current tab and what not. You can enable that css in konsole ( settings>tabbar/splitters).

Something like ( starting konsole with a bunch of preloads and css):

1 Like

Please file a bug about this :slight_smile:

About launching new tabs instead of new windows, there is a open feature request for that 473907 – "Always open new tabs instead of new windows" feature

I tried to hack together a service menu in combination with a script that lets you choose the window you want to open the new tab in using qdbus (requires kdialog).