How is KDE in laptops?

Hi. It’s been few years since I have last used linux but now I kind of need it for some of my projects as linux on windows is kind of a pain and I also want to get back to linux. I have a laptop with Intel iGPU and Nvidia 1650 GPU. So anyone with similar configuration can tell me how is it in KDE wayland since I would also be using multiple displays with different refresh rate and last time I checked it suck on Xorg and wayland was simply not usable.

I can cope with minor bugs here and there as long as it doesn’t like make the device unusable altogether. Also I would be using dual boot environment with Windows 11 so would the TPM cause any trouble?

Thanks

2 Likes

It’s great in my opinion. I’ve been using Wayland on my laptop for about 6 months now and it’s really nice.

Dual GPU however and Linux aren’t a great duo from what I’ve seen though. If you’re not using the laptop for gaming or intensive applications you can just set the Intel GPU as the only GPU in the BIOS from what I’ve heard and have less issues.

1 Like

Oh disabling Nvidia is a no go from me. I am going to use CUDA cores for small AI project. Yes 1650 is not the latest and greatest out there but it is far better than a CPU. Also I play some games in windows and Intel GPU can’t even run Minecraft at 10 FPS in normal settings.

2 Likes

Fair enough. I think it’s worth trying and I know there’s tools out there to manage running certain software on the NVIDIA GPU.

1 Like

KDE on Notebooks… It’s not so much a KDE/Plasma thingy but rather a matter of how good/convenient/transparent your hardware support is by the distro you are using.

GPUwise:
My machines do fine (either intel, amd or intel/amd dgpu), it even runs smooth on an old Inspiron 1525 with a intel GMU. Sleep modes and on an old noname netbook even touchscreen and Plasma works fine ootb.