How to add C++ compiler in `kdevelop`?

I’ve searched online for how to, but I didn’t notice any documentation. I understand how to add python3 as an interpreter, but I’m new to compiled languages, and the “Binary application” choice confuses me. Furthermore, I’m not even certain whether it’s the correct one. (Additionally, which choice in the menu bar compiles it? – “Debug launch”?)

I want this so that I need not have to type g++ -std=gnu++20 -o ./output ./source.cpp in the konsole KPart panel anymore.

KDevelop is supposed to preconfigure things up for you as long as you have (a) the required build tools and (b) your CMakeLists.txt set up to generate a target correctly.

Then you should see a fourth option in that combobox that has the name of the executable target. That’s the right one. If it doesn’t appear, it is possible that there is something wrong in your CMakeLists.txt.

Screenshot_20230222_001208

1 Like

Thank you!

I hadn’t created a CMakeLists.txt file. I apologize; this is my first time using C++. I tried to verify that this wasn’t a KDE-related problem, but Google provided no useful answers for my queries. The W3C tutorial didn’t mention such a file.

@Herzenschein, do you know of any resources or can point to me to a basic CMakeLists.txt file already on my KDE installation? I ask solely because either I’m useless at using search engines, or the basic developer documentation for this topic needs some serious SEO.

Would be good if this instance of Discourse used whatever plugin or feature allows marking a response as the answer.

can point to me to a basic CMakeLists.txt file already on my KDE installation?

I’m pretty sure it won’t be there in your installation. https://develop.kde.org/docs/use/kirigami/introduction-getting_started/ has explanation of somelines used in CMakeLists.txt

In your case, following should be enough i believe

project(HelloWorld)
set(CMAKE_CXX_STANDARD 20)
add_executable(output source.cpp)
1 Like