How to make a simple passive popup for plasmoid? Help

hi,
I’m not a developer (it’s been a week since I started learning to code), I’m trying to understand, it’s hard.

I’m trying to create a plasmoid on/off switch, I managed to make it work but I’ve been trying for more than 4 days to add a simple passive popup like this :
Copie d'écran_20240328_222739

to indicate the change of state of the switch but I achieves nothing.

In a.sh script it’s simple like:
kdialog --passivepopup “Light On” 5

but in .qml I couldn’t do it, I also tried to understand Knotification but barely lost the documentation is so hard to understand, it gives the impression that the KDE devs who wrote their documentation don’t want that the general public understands, the language barrier doesn’t help me either (I’m French)

Could anyone help me? I despair.

This “passive popup” feature you talk about is called “notifications”. The API to implement this in KDE is called KNotifications.

The documentation for KNotifications QML API seems pretty straight forward: import org.kde.notifications; create a Notification object with the properties you need; update its text and/or title fields as needed; call sendEvent() to trigger the notification.

Which of these is giving your problems, what specific errors or unexpected behavior did you encounter and can you show what you did and didn’t work for you?

Hi,

I tried to integrate KNotifications following this same doc to test but I got an error which tells me:

kf.notifications: No event config could be found for event id “led_on” under notifyrc file for app “Switch-Toggle”

I searched on the internet and it says that this file is not found in /root, I did not find it (I am using KDE Neon) and I find it strange to have for plasmoid to touch files in /root for a simple passive notification.

Here is my complete code, sorry it’s very ugly, I’m a beginner:

import QtQuick
import QtQuick.Layouts
import org.kde.plasma.plasmoid