iBus issue with Wayland

Hey when I login to a Wayland session, I get an iBus notification like this.

Please unset QT_IM_MODULE and GTK_IM_MODULE environment variables and ‘ibus-daemon --panel disable’ should be executed as a child process of ibus-ui-gtk3 component.

I am kinda new to KDE Plasma and Linux altogether, so would be nice if you guys could help me debug the issue.

5 Likes

I have the same message, after upgrading kubuntu from 23.04 to 23.10 and cannot find how to remove. Possibly to do with the ‘ibus’ virtual keyboard component?

I’ll add a note that I was having this issue with Kali Linux (based on debian-testing).

I have since moved to Kubuntu and it works fine even after a successful upgrade from 23.04 to 23.10.

I’ll add that I just installed a fresh Debian testing and I also cant seem to find any resources on how to make the recommended changes. if y’all come across something give a shout.

I tried some of following

Reinstal: ibus-gtk, ibus-gtk3 and ibus-gtk4:
sudo apt install --reinstall ibus-gtk3

Disabled Virtual Keyboard in KDE settings
And set KDE desktop session to “Start with an empty session”

Restarting ibus-daemon provides additional info
ibus-daemon -r
and
ibus-daemon --help

It seems like the suggested instruction is not functioning correctly: KDE setting: " “Input Devices” → “Virtual Keyboard” section and select “IBus Wayland” icon and click “Apply” button to configure IBus in Wayland…
There is an additonal instructions for other desktop sessions: to unset “QT_IM_MODULE and GTK_IM_MODULE” - but where / how? - I read how to set an environment variable, but not how to ‘unset’ (Perhaps removing from where it is set - but where?)

AFAICT, QT_IM_MODULE is set by the package im-config.
I didn’t investigate very deeply, but removing the package (apt remove im-config), followed by a reboot I managed to get rid of the annoying pop up.

3 Likes

Just a suggestion:

Go to /etc/environment.d
Create a file called ibus-custom.conf