Saving window placements on wayland

Stupid question probably, but why don’t kde save window positions in wayland? Surely an issue that must’ve popped up a thousand times before but I get conflicting arguments when I google it.
I can close a window and open it in the same session and it appears in the middle of the screen though I would rather like it where I left it in the top right. I’m no proper developer but it seems like a kde issue rather than a wayland issue?

It has indeed popped up a thousand times before. See 15329 – Save and remember positions of all windows.

KWin will eventually gain the feature, but it hasn’t happened yet.

1 Like

With X11 apps typically do it themselves - save window geometry in their settings and restore it on startup. This also works on other platforms like Windows and macOS, making it a cross-platform solution… Until Wayland came along. With Wayland apps aren’t allowed to position themselves on screen (again, unlike with all other major desktop windowing systems on Linux or other platforms) and this approach doesn’t work. This is something that needs to be implemented in each Wayland compositor directly, and AFAIK doesn’t exist yet.

2 Likes

There are valid reasons for the Wayland approach. What you may be forgetting is that on X11, only some apps remember their own positions. Many don’t do it at all; it’s a per-window opt-in thing. Until I implemented this feature for KXMLGui, almost no KDE apps did. And even now, all non-KDE apps that implement this feature have to do it themselves, because no cross-toolkit library exists for window positioning. Generally this is fine as long as you have a single screen, but the moment you have two or more, it breaks down because the level of complexity increases dramatically and every app that implements the feature handles that complexity in a different way.