Second kdenlive application in macos dock?

Hi, all,

I’m pretty new to kdenlive, using version 23.08.2. I’m on a Mac running 14.1.

Whenever I launch kdenlive by clicking on it in the dock, a second kdenlive application opens with a different logo – the audio bars on the left hand side have more lines and the whole thing is less blurry. It bounces for a very long time while the “real” kdenlive application is running. Eventually it stops bouncing but doesn’t have a little “running” light underneath it. Right-clicking on it shows me “Application Not Responding” and picking “Show in Finder” brings me to the kdenlive application bundle in the Applications folder with the smaller icon. After a long while, it spontaneously closes.

Any idea what’s going on?

Thanks!

Becca

There are two things (one easy , one more complex) you could try (I don’t have Kdenlive on my old MacBook Pro, but the principle is the same as for other programs):

1. Quit Kdenlive.
    Remove the Kdenlive icon from the dock, in Finder go to the Applications folder and re-add the Kdenlive icon to the dock.
    Try if this helped.

2. Quit Kdenlive.
    Open Terminal from Utilities and enter
    cd .config
    ls -l
    See if there is a Kdenlive folder listed (you can identify that something is a folder by the “d” at the beginning of the line).
    Enter
    mv put_the_exact_name_of_the_kdenlive_folder_here old-kdenlive
    and write down the exact name of the original Kdenlive folder before.
    (This will rename the Kdenlive settings folder for your user account and Kdenlive will create a new one at its next start.
    If you do have very important settings or if this did not help, you could always get your old Kdenlive setting folder back by opening Terminal again and entering
    cd .config
    mv old-kdenlive put_the_name_of_the_original_kdenlive_folder_here ).
    Close Terminal and try if this helped. If it did just forget about the old folder. :wink: