Tearing my hair out about tabgroup migration (porting plasmoid)

Heya everyone,

I am looking at doing some migrating of code that worked in Plasma 5 but doesn’t in Plasma 6.
I saw the KF6 porting page (can’t paste a link) and it’s been a great help, but there’s the old KDE4 “tabgroup” functionality which came as part of the “components 2.0”, which was present as part of Plasma 5 - but now seems absent in Plasma 6.

I assume that it’s actually moved from tabgroup to something completely different (and not tabbar?)… But searching the net I don’t find anything productive for migrating from the older tabgroup to anything newer, and I have very little experience in QML to know what functionality should be investigated here.

Does anyone have any suggestions please?
I’m quite happy to investigate, study up and attempt the migration and recode/adjust, but right now it just seems like the functionality has been removed with no functional replacement?

Old486whizz

The component was not replaced with anything else IIRC, as it was just a group of buttons. We didn’t really like the UX of the component anyway, so I would recommend porting to something else. Either real tabs, or else a combobox or group of radio buttons–depending on what you’re trying to accomplish.

I would love to develop more - if the KDE/Plasma documentation and testing tools were actually helpful!

Trying plasmoidviewer and windows open randomly around the screen instead of inside the window. No documentation on the containment plugins, no way to list out the containment plugins.
No documentation on functionality being removed from libraries.

… This is very disheartening…

Old486whizz

Yes, our developer documentation is currently quite bad. We’re working on it, and it’s slowly getting better, but the starting state was pretty low.

This is an area where help is eagerly appreciated.

Thanks for responding ngraham.