What is DigiKam doing with my files !?!

new to digikam. I see it uses a database, so I assumed that if it were to ‘take ownership’ of any of my files - eg such that a delete would remove the (originals) from disk, it would be loud, clear, and well-documented.

So I added a folder of images. Then realized the “root album” setup was anything but clear, and I need to change things [ok, fine, i’m new to Digikam…]. BUT … can I delete the album? I don’t know, the docs (or UI) do not specify!! Not in any way that would make sense to a new user, at least. Collections Settings — Digikam Manual 8.1.0 documentation and Albums View — Digikam Manual 8.1.0 documentation

So I create a quick ‘dummy’ album, and create / delete. Digikam sees to copy (??) every photo/video locally into $HOME/root_album/some_album/dummy-folder-name-i-added

Interest piqued, I look around at my filesystem:

• 48gb== my original/preexisting folder of pictures (a syncthing share local folder FWIW)
  • 37gb == the same folder in the matching $HOME/root_album/some_album/...
  • (both sizes obtained with du -sch)

what on earth is going on??

1. why are they different sizes on disk?
  2. more importantly, why for a database-based photo manager is digikam copying all my files? (Those can’t be thumbnails or previews at that size)
    1. And if it wants to, why was this not made clear when I add folders the existing large folder?
  3. in the docs, how am I supposed to tell what the heck happens, big picture, to my critical data, when i try to delete these albums?
1 Like

It depends on howyou connected to the original copy of the Files.

If you imported , then yes Digikam will make a copy, on the local filesystem.

The different sizes on disk depends on the way the different Filesystems store the data.

More info on your system please

• ubuntu20.04
  • btrfs root FS
  • my original source folder, and the one digikam created in ~/Pictures/ are on this same FS