How to change monitor layout and orientation in SDDM?

I’ve never attempted this before, so I’m not sure how flexible SDDM is, and I’m a noob with xrandr.

I have a 4K+1440p monitor setup (in that order), with the 1440p being the primary (will replace with 1440p ultrawide).

• I want to rotate the 4K monitor 90° CW only
  • I want 1440p to be the primary monitor
  • (Optional) I want to put a different wallpaper on my portrait display

How can I accomplish that? And if I were to swap one of the monitors or move the cables around, it won’t crash SDDM or cause issues?

Edit these 2 files, if not exist create them. Note that DP-2 and DP-4 are examples. Find out which port your monitor connecting to by running xrandr. If rotate right is not right then change to left.

/usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup

xrandr --output DP-2 --mode 3840x2160 --rotate right --auto --noprimary --output DP-4 --mode 2560x1440 --rotate normal --auto --primary

When you change to 2k Ultrawide

xrandr --output DP-2 --mode 3840x2160 --rotate right --auto --noprimary --output DP-4 --mode 3440x1440 --rotate normal --auto --primary

/etc/sddm.conf

[XDisplay]
# Xsetup script path
# A script to execute when starting the display server
DisplayCommand=/usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup

For wallpaper open settings and search SDDM.

2 Likes

Thanks for that
And regarding the wallpaper, I edited my post

This is supported out of the box if you use Wayland. Then go to the SDDM page in System Settings and click the “Apply Plasma Settings” button.

1 Like

Nice Nate! That’s actually something I mentioned would be nice in a Github bug. I didn’t know it had already been implemented.

Out of curiosity, what happens if I need to change back to my “regular” 1440p? Will it break? Or how will SDDM handle that situation (mainly for curiosity sake).

oh that’s good to hear. I just hope that Wayland will be ready for gaming soon

On Wayland, SDDM it remembers resolutions per-screen, so that shouldn’t be a problem.