I'm new & Download page doesn't seem to have a clickable item under Linux

For some time now I’ve wanted to empty the images of my iPhone 11 (128GB) onto my Linux Mint laptop. That has a Windows partition, so I did try iTunes on that side first, but no luck. And I loathe Windows, and am rarely on that ‘side.’ So I found a YouTube video that tells me how to get KDE on my phone (done) and the laptop (can’t find the download icon).

I have not been able to upgrade to the newest iOS, and I realise that is a dire situation. I ought to delete videos to ensure I can get security updates …

Says " KDE Connect is available in all major distributions …" but the ‘available,’ although hyperlinked, goes nowhere.

Hi. You should be able to install KDE Connect on Linux Mint using its Software Manager, which I think is called mintInstall

Thanks–that is good to know! But I’m a newbie on Linux and don’t know how to do that. ‘Sudo’ is a strange ‘word’ to me! (I’d love a list of commands I could print off.)

Does “Sudo solve all my tech problems” work? I’m not a naturally competent person in a geek or tech sense … I wish!

No need to sudo anything. If you’re on Cinnamon edition, click the LM application launcher (bottom left of the screen), type “Soft” (no quotes) and click on “Software Manager” to launch it, then search “kdeconnect” and install it.

Ha! Sheesh. That was easy. Now I get to keep the very bad ‘videos’ of me performing songs on my guitar.

Thank you.

I’ve never used that application launcher before–not to find a new, unlisted item, anyway. Of course I open darktable or Vivaldi through that …

The sudo command allows you to run a command as root if that is set in the /etc/sudoers file. That file controls the options for the user permissions when used with the sudo. Some of the time the user only has access to certain commands or when used for the root access all commands.

https://ubuntu.com/tutorials/command-line-for-beginners#1-overview