[.qml+python3] How to read Icons KCM configured sizes?

I have a python3+qml application that needs to use the system icon set. Consequently, I want to be able to set the icon size per the preferences set by the user in KDE Plasma’s Icons KCM.

Are you using Kirigami? If you are using kirigami all the Kirigami components that use icons will use the icons from the system theme and also the size will be according to what is set in the system settings.

I’m not an expert btw

1 Like

I was just using QML, since I thought that that would be easier to learn than QML with Kirigami. Am I mistaken?

Might be similar to [.qml+python3] How to determine whether icons are enabled? - #6 by ngraham

These settings have been removed in Plasma 6, so the answer now is that there is no way to read them.

1 Like

@ngraham, so how do most KDE apps consistently size themselves based upon the display scale? There must be something communally responsible that’s ultimately hooked into, else every application would look as if its iconography had been randomly sized.

For instance, when I want to use iconography in my Qt applications, do I access a separate program or Qt / KDE Frameworks library or function to resize them?

Use the standard icon sizes from KIconThemes, available in on the QML side via Kirigami.Units.iconSizes.[stuff]. You’ll see these all over the code of any KDE app.

2 Likes

Thanks, @ngraham. I guess this was X/Y again, right?

If I find an application which doesn’t appear to use sensibly sized iconography, is this what I should request they use?

I used to ask them to adhere to preferences like

Basically, if an app doesn’t use what you believe to be the correct icon size, it’s something that will have to be changed in the app’s code if the developers agree with you that the size is wrong. It’s generally really easy to do this, so changes can be made quickly if there’s agreement on it.